Raquel Atawo and Abigail Spears Win Doubles Title


STANFORD, Calif. – The second-seeded duo of Raquel Atawo and Abigail Spears defeated the third-seeded tandem of Darija Jurak and Anastasia Rodionova 6-3, 6-4 on Sunday afternoon in the doubles final of the Bank of the West Classic at Taube Family Tennis Stadium. 

It was the second Bank of the West Classic doubles crown for Atawo and Spears, who also won in 2013 as the last all-American pair to take home the hardware. Currently ranked No. 20 in doubles, Atawo and Spears were appearing in their first final of the year.

Atawo has now captured 16 WTA doubles titles, 14 of which have come with Spears, who improved to 18-9 in doubles finals overall.

Jurak and Rodionova had breezed through their three previous matches, surrendering four games or fewer in each set.

Trailing 3-2 in the first set, Atawo and Spears ripped off four consecutive games to grab the early lead. Atawo and Spears led 4-2 in the second set and secured the win after alternating games.

ABOUT THE BANK OF THE WEST CLASSIC: The Bank of the West Classic is the longest-running women-only professional tennis tournament in the world and is the first stop of the Emirates Airline US Open Series. Owned and operated by IMG, the WTA Premier event features a 28-player singles draw and a 16-team doubles draw with total prize money of $846,000. Held on Stanford University’s campus at Taube Family Tennis Stadium since 1997, former champions include: Billie Jean King, Chris Evert, Martina Navratilova, Andrea Jaeger, Monica Seles, Martina Hingis, Lindsay Davenport, Serena Williams, Venus Williams and Kim Clijsters.

ABOUT BANK OF THE WEST: Bank of the West is a regional financial services company chartered in California and headquartered in San Francisco with $77.2 billion in assets as of March 31, 2016. Founded in 1874, Bank of the West provides a wide range of personal, commercial, wealth management and international banking services through more than 600 offices in 23 states and digital channels. Bank of the West is a subsidiary of BNP Paribas, which has a presence in 75 countries with 185,000 employees.

ABOUT THE EMIRATES AIRLINE US OPEN SERIES: The world’s best players on the WTA and ATP World Tour are coming together for the Emirates Airline US Open Series, now in its 13th season. Linking seven summer WTA and ATP World Tour tournaments to the US Open, the Emirates Airline US Open Series serves as a true regular season of hard court tennis. In 2014, Serena Williams won the US Open and Emirates Airline US Open Series women’s title for the second consecutive year, earning a record tennis paycheck of $4 million. Rafael Nadal (2013), Roger Federer (2007) and Kim Clijsters (2005) also accomplished the feat of winning the Emirates Airline US Open Series and US Open singles title within the same year.